Interiors

When I was in Iceland last summer, I was so struck by the wonderful isolation of the place. In some ways it reminded me of Eastern Europe in the early 1990s, which felt like The Land that Time Forgot. While exteriors were appropriately scrappy, the interiors often contained color-combos that had gone out of fashion decades previously or curtains left over from the 1970s. People simply made do with what they had instead of buying new things. For some reason, it felt a little magical to experience places like this in Iceland. I’m not sure why…I guess I’ve always liked old things.

Anyway, I think it’s safe to say Orri Jónsson shares this fascination. From 1999 to 2012, Jónsson photographed the interiors of abandoned houses in the northern regions of Iceland. Talk about remote! I know from experience; these places are not so easily accessible. That’s exactly what makes them so special. His Interiors is a beautiful book.

Image

Orri Jónsson

~ by Valerie Palmer on May 23, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
