Oh, the wattage of Reggie Watts

photo by Noah Kalina

photo by Noah Kalina

Last night I went to see Reggie Watts perform at Spaceland in Silverlake, and this morning my cheeks still hurt from laughing so much. I’m not sure what to call him…is he a comedian? A performance artist? A musician? It’s always a good sign when someone defies easy categorization.

He sang a love song about a sandwich. He told a story about sitting around the campfire in Montana drinking Robitussin. He sang another song about the huge purses women carry around. He raps and makes fun of rappers (My favorite line: Where’s my gerund at?). He must have been classically trained at some point because his voice can do all sorts of operatic things that left me standing there in awe (he told me he has a vocal range of 4.36 octaves). Really, just trying to keep up with the man’s brain was a challenge—if I laughed too much I missed a transition into another tangent about vegan mayonnaise.

Last night’s show was good therapy. If you’re feeling down in the dumps, even if you’re broke, please go see Reggie Watts perform. You won’t regret it.

Update: Reggie is performing at the Upright Citizen’s Brigade on Franklin tonight, 9/15/09!

~ by Valerie Palmer on September 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
